J Ward was built between 1859 and 1861 and disabled access was not considered. There are three main sets of stairs in the buildings.
The ﬁrst is at the front door. An alternative entrance is available. Speak to the guide or phone the front desk on 5352 2703 for assistance.
There is a stairway to the upper level of the main cell block. Stairways lead to and from the underground kitchen and there are no alternative ways to get to these areas.
J Ward is a Tour Only site, so guides will do their best to give all visitors an interesting experience, keeping in mind these unavoidable restrictions.
A disabled toilet is available at J Ward.
Certiﬁed assistance dogs are welcome at J Ward.
Contact us on the below phone or email with any further questions.